Wangaratta Lawn Tennis Club is situated in the centre of Wangaratta in the picturesque Merriwa Park.

The club formed in Merriwa Park in 1925 with roots as far back as 1894. The club started with five courts which were available for play in 1926.

The clubhouse still retains the original solid building completed in 1941, plus an extension added to the western end.

A club history was compiled in 2011 and released as a 172 page book. Copies of the book are still available for sale.

The club holds its annual tournament on the Australia Day weekend in January each year, with its 100th tournament due in 2026.

Many exceptional players have graced the grass courts over the intervening years, including the legendary Rex Hartwig, a stalwart of the Australian Davis Cup teams in the 1950s. Rex was a member of the club and a two time winner of the annual tournament. Other legends such as Brian Tobin, Bob Mark and Frank Sedgeman were also winners of the tournament.

Of significat note was the domination of the tournament in the 70s and 80s by the Wurtz brothers, Graeme, Ken and Rodney from Albury.

The clubhouse in 1964

The club conducts a number of competitions in the summer season, including:

The facility boasts 20 of the best grass courts available in Australia, together with two synthetic grass courts.

The addition of court lighting to the two synthetic courts and six grass courts was completed in late 2017. By mid 2018 an online court booking and payment system, including gate code access was completed.